Industrie

Treffe die Welt und erobere sie!

Wirtschaft

Related Articles

Wirtschaft

Mit geschätzten 240 Millionen Profi- und Amateurspielern in 200 Ländern gilt Fußball als die beliebteste Sportart der Welt. Ein Grund für den Erfolg dieses Sports ist der geringe Aufwand: eine Handvoll Spieler, eine einigermaßen ebene Fläche, ein paar Pfosten, die als Tor dienen, und ein ballähnlicher Gegenstand – und schon kann es losgehen.

Von London bis Lahore und von Nairobi bis New York sieht man auf den Straßen Fußballfans, die in den Farben ihrer bevorzugten Mannschaft gekleidet sind und den Namen ihres Idols auf dem Rücken tragen – Ibrahimović, Eto’o oder Messi.

Für viele dieser Fans ist Fußball mehr als nur ein Spiel. Eine Karriere als Profi-Fußballer kann der Ausweg aus der Armut und der Weg in ein besseres Leben sein, nicht nur für den Fußballer selbst, sondern auch für seine Familie. Ganz zu schweigen von dem Ruhm.

Ein Beispiel ist der Brasilianer Edison Arantes do Nascimento, besser bekannt unter dem Namen Pelé. Pelé wuchs in ärmlichen Verhältnissen in Bauru, einem Vorort von São Paulo, auf und lernte das Fußballspielen von seinem Coach. Einen richtigen Fußball konnte er sich nicht leisten und spielte meist entweder mit einem Socken, der mit Zeitung ausgestopft war, oder mit einer Pampelmuse. Als seine sagenhafte Fußballkarriere 1977 zu Ende ging, hatte er in 1.363 Spielen 1.281 Tore geschossen und mit seiner Mannschaft dreimal die Weltmeisterschaft für Brasilien gewonnen.

Angesichts dieser Popularität überrascht es nicht, dass Fußball ein wesentlicher Teil der Nachhaltigkeitsaktivitäten von SKF ist. Seit 2007 organisiert SKF in allen Teilen der Welt unter dem Motto „Meet the World” Fußballturniere für Jungen und Mädchen. Ziel ist, Mannschaften mit geringen finanziellen Mitteln die Teilnahme am Gothia Cup im schwedischen Göteborg zu ermöglichen. SKF ist der Hauptsponsor dieses größten Jugendfußballturniers der Welt, an dem mehr als 30.000 Jungen und Mädchen teilnehmen. Jedes Jahr qualifizieren sich 15 bis 20 Teams durch „Meet the World”-Turniere für den Gothia Cup.

Der diesjährige Gothia Cup findet vom 17. bis 23. Juli statt. Wer weiß, vielleicht ist ja ein zukünftiger Pelé dabei.

Industry

Meet the World – and conquer it!

Related Articles

With an estimated 240 million players in 200 countries, football is considered by many to be the most popular sport in the world. One of the keys to the game’s success is its simplicity. All you need is a handful of players, a reasonably flat space, something that can act as goal posts and a ball-shaped object. Then it’s kick-off time.

The popularity – and commercialization – of football is also highly visible all over the world. From London to Lahore, from Nairobi to New York, you can see young football fans on the streets dressed in their favourite team’s colours and with their idol’s names on the back – Ibrahimović, Eto’o or Messi.

For many of these young people, football also represents something more than just a game. A professional football career can be a way to escape poverty and find a better life for yourself and your family, not to mention fame.

One example of this is the Brazilian Edison Arantes do Nascimento, better known as Pelé, considered the greatest football player of all time. He grew up in poverty in Bauru, São Paulo. Taught to play by his coach, he could not afford a proper football and usually played with either a sock stuffed with newspaper or a grapefruit. When his stunning football career ended in 1977, he had scored 1,281 goals in 1,363 games and had been part of three World Cup winning squads for his country.

So it’s no surprise that football is a vital part of the sustainability activities at SKF. Since 2007, SKF has organized football tournaments for young boys and girls all over the world under the banner of “Meet the World.” The aim is to help teams with limited financial resources take part in the Gothia Cup tournament in Gothenburg, Sweden. SKF is the main partner of Gothia Cup, the world’s biggest youth football tournament, involving more than 30,000 boys and girls. Each year, between 15 and 20 teams qualify through Meet the World and get the opportunity to take part in the Cup.

This year’s Gothia Cup will take place from 17–23 July. If you go to Gothenburg for the Cup, keep a sharp eye out for a future Pelé.

Keep me updated

Want to learn more about what is driving change in the engineering world? EVOLUTION helps you to stay up to date with emerging trends as well as the latest technology. Sign up for EVOLUTION updates to receive new content directly to your inbox.

Sign up