工程能力

新型风电齿轮箱轴承挑战扭矩密度极限

SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承现已问世,其优势是具有更长的使用寿命和更高的稳定性。

相关内容

风电行业一直面临降低平准化能源成本 (LCoE) 的压力,新型传动系统设计于是应运而生。由于塔顶上对重量的限制和最大部件运输尺寸的限制,亟需提高齿轮箱扭矩密度[1]。因此,在不影响实际性能的前提下,就必须进一步缩小包括滚子轴承在内的所有部件的尺寸。

现代风电齿轮箱由两级或多级行星轮组成。为了提高扭矩密度,就需要增加行星轮的数量,以将扭矩分布到更多的齿轮接触面上,从而为减小行星轮和齿圈的直径创造有利条件。这种新的设计趋势将会驱动齿轮箱尺寸的显著减小,但同时也会造成支承行星轮的轴承的安装空间缩小(图 1)。

优化滚子轴承解决方案

进一步减小行星轮尺寸的一种解决方案是使用液体动压滑动轴承。然而,从运行条件、转速、行星轮几何形状(例如宽径比)等方面来看,滚子轴承是一种具有成本竞争力、成熟可靠的解决方案。因此,我们需要能够承受更高载荷和接触应力的新型滚子轴承解决方案,以便为提高扭矩密度创造有利条件。

这种新的设计趋势将会驱动齿轮箱尺寸的显著减小。

为风电齿轮箱开发新型轴承解决方案的另一个重要驱动因素是需要提高可靠性和稳定性,以减少在实际应用中出现诸如白蚀裂纹 (WEC)[2]、微点蚀[4]等常见的轴承过早失效现象。

本文将介绍的 SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承是一个新型轴承设计研发项目的成果,具有如下特点:

  • 延长了轴承的额定寿命,可以缩小轴承的尺寸。
  • 提高了稳定性,可减少风电齿轮箱常见的失效现象。

图 1:风电齿轮箱第一级齿圈及行星轮的常用直径(左)以及多级行星轮的示意图(右)。

SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承

开发SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承旨在满足风电齿轮箱对滚动轴承的苛刻要求。这种轴承采用优质轴承钢制造,并经过了表面化学热处理,实现了轴承部件的表面和次表面的改性。

图2:SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承的表面化学热处理。
通过表面和次表面的改性处理,形成了具有细小析出物的显微组织和均匀分布该显微组织上适量的稳定残余奥氏体。这些特征通常都被认为对轴承钢的抗疲劳性有正面影响,包括阻止表面起源型失效及其扩散[5]。与目前在风电机组中使用的标准轴承相比,这种强化还有助于产生压应力,并提高表面硬度,从而进一步提高 SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承的滚动接触抗疲劳性。

性能评估

轴承寿命试验

SKF进行的一项试验将轴承置于极高载荷、滚道预设压痕、全油膜和润滑不良的条件下。预设压痕模拟表面局部应力集中点,从而降低润滑效果。试验参数总结在表 1 中。

表 1:根据载荷 (C/P) 和润滑条件(卡帕值)进行试验。

试验所使用的中型圆锥滚子轴承目前常用于2兆瓦和3兆瓦风电齿轮箱的高速轴。

对两种不同的轴承进行了测试。参照轴承是先进的穿透硬化处理系列轴承,并具有 SKF Explorer [3] 特征和黑色氧化涂层,用来与 SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承进行对比试验。

所有耐久试验结果都汇总在一张单独的归一化威布尔图上,如图 3 所示。从该图可看出, SKF 长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承与参照轴承相比性能显著提升。星点显示的是SKF 长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承的 ISO/TS 16281:2008标准修正寿命(见第 4 节)。模型参数的选择使得额定计算寿命接近 L10h 可靠性区间的下限。

图 3:合并和归一化试验结果以及模型预测结果。

稳定性减少因白蚀裂纹导致的过早失效

尽管采用黑色氧化涂层等提高稳定性的工艺已显著减少了轴承过早失效的发生次数[6],但市场仍需要稳定性更高的解决方案。这一论断对于售后市场和新设计齿轮箱来说都是成立的因为人们尚未完全了解轴承出现过早失效时确切的极限运行条件[6]。

目前已经明确了白蚀裂纹导致过早失效的几个因素[4]。SKF设计了不同的试验方式来验证轴承解决方案的稳定性。在SKF所用的试验台上,通过加载高强度拉应力来模拟过早失效 [7] 。在实际应用中,配合不当、轴的径向跳动或轴承位变形,都可能会产生高强度拉应力。在该试验台上,轴承安装在人为加工成有波度的轴上,从而使得滚道在波峰处产生高强度拉应力(图4)。即使在约1.5GPa的滚动接触应力下(即风电齿轮箱的正常运行条件),经过相对较短的试验时间后也会产生过早失效,其外观与在现场看到的失效非常相似(图4)。

图5中的柱状图显示,6个SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承在相同条件下进行了测试,无一失效。所有试验至少进行了1,600小时。采用标准轴承钢和热处理过的轴承平均在运行178小时后失效(图5)。

图 4:通过增加环向应力来模拟白蚀裂纹导致的过早失效[7]:内圈中的拉应力 (a),以及试验后出现白蚀裂纹的失效轴承和裂纹表面的透镜状特征 (b),如同在多个现场失效轴承中所见。
图 5:采用标准轴承钢和热处理过的轴承与SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承在拉应力试验台上的运行时间比较。采用标准轴承钢和热处理过的轴承平均在运行178小时后失效,而所有SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承在试验停止时均未失效。

SKF 长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承的新额定寿命模型

风电行业要求使用ISO/TS 16281:2008来评估轴承额定寿命[10],但ISO/TS 16281:2008和ISO 281:2007不允许使用最新的轴承解决方案提供的轴承计算寿命。因此,SKF开发出一种新的方法,将SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承的性能加入 ISO/TS 16281:2008修正后的额定寿命计算中,把额定动载荷的增加和寿命修正系数αISO的增加结合起来考虑。

根据 ISO 281:2007,αISO计算如下:

如Ioannides等人论文[11]所示,在αISO中添加适当的特征系数,以便在ISO模型中体现先进的热处理和改进表面光洁度的有利影响。为了体现SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承的性能改进,将反映Explorer的影响系数Ψbrg和反映改进钢材和热处理的附加影响系数ΦHDB加入 αISO 中:

根据前面介绍的耐久性试验,可以确定并调整 ΨbrgΦHDB的函数关系。

SKF 长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承的表面和次表面材料特性得到改进。因此, SKF 通用轴承寿命模型 (GBLM) [8]最能真实地反映其性能的提升,该模型将表面影响和次表面影响分离开来(见图 6)。 SKF 通用轴承寿命模型的基本公式可以写为:

公式中由体积积分表示的次表面项可以使用成熟的滚动接触疲劳方法求解[8]。 由面积积分表示的表面项则说明了与表面疲劳相关的失效模式。表面项在SKF 长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承的应用中,还包含了提高表面强度的轴承设计特征的计算模型。这种方法已经成功地应用于混合陶瓷轴承的额定寿命计算 [9] ,并将推广到越来越多的SKF产品中。

一旦根据上述寿命试验确定了新额定寿命模型的不同因素,便可以评估 SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承的额定寿命。

图 6:SKF 通用轴承寿命模型将表面影响和次表面影响分开进行研究。
针对SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承,修正的ISO/TS 16281:2008额定寿命和SKF 通用额定寿命模型的更新和验证过程已成功通过挪威船级社DNV审核。

轴承额定寿命的延长取决于实际运行条件。图 7显示了在典型齿轮箱中,不同级轴承平均寿命延长的几个计算实例,这些寿命都延长了四倍以上。由于表面和次表面性能的整体改进,在多种运行条件下都能显著延长额定寿命。

图7:在典型风电齿轮箱的不同级齿轮轴上,将SKF Explorer更换为SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承模型后所获得的平均额定寿命的延长情况。这是对不同运行条件下进行多次模型计算后的平均值,因为额定寿命延长还取决于油的清洁度、卡帕值和载荷条件。

SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承是如何提高扭矩密度的呢?

支承行星轮的轴承尺寸往往决定了行星轮的最小尺寸。因此,若能减小该轴承的尺寸,将直接影响行星轮的尺寸,进而影响齿圈的尺寸,最终影响齿轮箱的扭矩密度。

本节通过一个应用案例来展示SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承如何在不影响轴承额定寿命的前提下,通过缩小行星轮轴承尺寸,为提高扭矩密度创造有利条件。本案例基于一个先进的6兆瓦风电齿轮箱,它由4列圆柱滚子轴承支承,外圈滚道集成在齿轮中。客户要求达到30年的额定寿命,并满足风电机组设计标准第4部分:风电齿轮箱设计标准(IEC 61400-4) [10] 的要求,同时外圈滚道直径要最小化。

图 8显示了如何在保持轴承额定寿命不变的前提下减小轴承尺寸。第一柱显示最初所选轴承的额定寿命。第二柱显示如果将此轴承更换为SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承后额定寿命的增加。第三柱显示使用SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承优化轴承设计后的额定寿命。在这里,外圈滚道直径减少了25%,从460毫米减少到350毫米,而额定寿命仍然满足客户的要求。

图 8:7兆瓦齿轮箱的额定寿命和外圈滚道直径:(1) 用SKF Explorer轴承的原始尺寸 (2) 用SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承的原始尺寸 (3) 用SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承减小外圈滚道直径。
这使客户能够将行星轮的尺寸减小25%,从而相应地减小该级行星轮的齿圈尺寸,如图 9中的示意图所示。
在齿轮箱的不同位置可实现类似的尺寸减小:

  • 根据不同的齿轮级,齿轮箱制造商对减小尺寸的要求集中在减小直径或轴承宽度(主要针对高速轴)。
  • 在高速轴上,使用SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承来减小尺寸将有助于降低与打滑损伤相关的风险,其中滚子的惯性起着重要作用。

结论

SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承采用的优化轴承钢和热处理工艺带来了以下业已证实的好处:

  • 表面和次表面疲劳寿命延长至原来的5倍,从而在相同载荷下,可将轴承和齿轮尺寸缩小 25%。
  • 满足不断提高的设计可靠性要求和 30 到 40 年的设计寿命要求,轴承额定寿命水平处于行业前沿,轴承额定寿命的延长已加入ISO/TS 16281:2008的修正计算方法中,不久也会加入到SKF 通用轴承寿命模型计算方法中,并成功通过了挪威船级社DNV审核。
  • 针对风电齿轮箱的恶劣工况提高了稳定性,从而增加了运行可靠性。

此外,SKF长寿命风电齿轮箱轴承凭借更高的稳定性,能够减少风电齿轮箱轴承常见的失效现象,从而减少风电机组的非计划停机和维修费用。提高风场运行的可靠性是一种避免轴承过早失效的解决方案。

参考文献

  1. “Focus areas in Vestas Powertrain”, A. Weber, A. Hansen, Conference for Windpower Drives, Aachen (2021)
  2. “White etching cracks – a consequence, not a root cause of bearing failure”, K. Stadler, R.H. Vegter, D. Vaes, SKF Evolution (2018)
  3. “SKF Rolling Bearing Catalogue”, 2018, SKF
  4. “Understanding and preventing surface distress”, G. Morales, V. Brizmer, SKF Evolution (2011)
  5. “Steels for bearings”, H.K.D.H. Bhadeshia, Progress in Materials Science, 57 (2012)
  6. “Benefits of using black oxidized bearings in wind applications”, K. Stadler, B. Han, V. Brizmer, R. Pasaribu, SKF Evolution (2015)
  7. “Investigation on the mechanisms of white etching crack (WEC) formation in rolling contact fatigue and identification of one root cause for bearing premature failure”, J. Lai, K. Stadler, Wear (2016)
  8. “A major step forward in life modelling”, G. Morales, A. Gabelli, SKF Evolution (2015)
  9. “The SKF Generalized Bearing Life Model for Hybrid Bearings”, G. Morales, A. Gabelli, A. Felix, SKF Evolution (2019)
  10. “Wind turbines – Part 4: Design requirements for wind turbine gearboxes”, IEC 61400-4:2012
  11. “An Analytical Formulation for the Life of Rolling Bearings”, E. Ioannides, G. Bergling, A. Gabelli, Acta Polytechnica Scandinavica, vol. 137 (1999)

Engineering Competence

New bearing design for wind turbine gearboxes

Say hello to a new bearing for wind turbine gearboxes. SKF high durability gearbox bearings for wind have a longer endurance life, higher life rating and increased robustness.

Related Content

The wind industry is facing continual pressure to reduce the levelized cost of energy (LCoE), resulting in new drivetrain designs. Increasing gearbox torque density is required to limit the weight uptower and to limit the size of the largest components for transport [1]. All components, including roller bearings, are therefore required to further downsize without jeopardizing the field performance.

Modern wind turbine gearboxes consist of two or more planetary gear stages. To achieve a higher torque density, the number of planet gears is increased. That way, the torque is split over more gear contacts, which allows reduction of the planet gear and ring gear diameter. These new design trends resulted in significant reduction of gearbox size; however, they also resulted in less space for the bearing supporting the planets (Fig. 1).

Strong roller bearings solutions are needed

One enabler to further reduce the size of planetary gears is the use of hydrodynamic plain bearings. However, depending on the operating conditions, rotational speed and planet gear geometry such as width over diameter ratio, roller bearings are a cost-competitive and well-proven reliable solution. Therefore, new roller bearing solutions are needed that are capable of taking higher loads and contact pressures to support the torque density increase.

These new design trends resulted in significant reduction of gearbox size.

Another important driver in the development of new bearing solutions for wind turbine gearboxes is the need to increase reliability and robustness against typical failure modes in the field, such as premature failures with white etching cracks (WECs) [2] or micropitting [4].

This article presents the SKF high durability gearbox bearing for wind, which is the result of a development project focusing on a new bearing design with:

  • increased bearing rating life to enable downsizing of bearings.
  • higher robustness against typical failure modes in wind gearboxes.

Fig. 1: Typical ring gear and planet gear diameter in the first stage of wind turbine gearboxes (left) and sketch of multi-planet planetary gear stage (right).

SKF high durability gearbox bearing for wind

The SKF high durability gearbox bearing for wind was developed to meet the high demands on rolling bearings in wind turbine gearboxes. This bearing combines a selected bearing-quality steel with a thermochemical heat-treatment process that enriches the surface and subsurface of the bearing components.

Fig. 2: Thermochemical heat treatment of SKF high durability gearbox bearing for wind.
The surface and subsurface enrichment results in a fine microstructure with fine precipitates and a tailored level of stable retained austenite evenly distributed in the microstructure. These features are all commonly considered to have a positive effect on the fatigue resistance of a bearing steel, including resistance to surface-initiated failure and its propagation [5]. This enrichment also contributes to compressive stresses and a higher surface hardness than used today in standard wind industry bearings, further boosting the rolling contact fatigue resistance of this bearing.

Performance evaluation

Bearing life tests

A testing campaign was executed in which very high load, pre-dented raceway, full-film and reduced lubrication conditions were addressed. The pre-dents act as local stress raisers on the surface, reducing the effectiveness of lubrication. Testing parameters are summarized in Table 1.

Table 1: Testing conditions in terms of load (C/P) and lubrication (kappa) conditions.

The tests were performed with medium-size tapered roller bearings, today used on the high-speed shaft of gearboxes of the 2 MW and 3 MW range.

Two bearing variants were tested. The baseline is a state-of-the-art through-hardened series bearing, including SKF Explorer [3] features and black oxide coating. It is compared with the SKF high durability gearbox bearing for wind.

All endurance testing results have been pooled on a single normalized Weibull chart, presented in Fig. 3. This figure highlights the significant performance increase of the SKF high durability gearbox bearing versus the baseline. The star shows the modified ISO/TS 16281:2008 life for the SKF high durability gearbox bearing (see section 4). The model parameters are selected so that the calculated rating life is close to the lower limit of the confidence interval of the L10h.

Fig. 3: Pooled and normalized test results alongside the model prediction.

Robustness against premature failures with WECs

Although the introduction of robustness-increasing measures such as black oxide coating has reduced the number of premature bearing failures significantly [6], there is still a market need for more robust solutions. This is valid both for aftermarket, as a problem solver for older designs suffering from premature failures, and for new gearbox designs, because the exact limits of operating conditions when bearings suffer from premature failures are not fully understood [6].

Several drivers for premature failures with WECs have been identified [4]. Different tests have been developed to verify the robustness of bearing solutions. SKF uses a test rig where premature failures are reproduced by introducing high tensile stresses [7]. In the application, high tensile stresses can arise from inadequate fits, radial runout of the shaft diameter or deformation of the bearing seating. On this rig, the bearing is mounted on a shaft with artificial waviness, resulting in high tensile stresses in the raceway at the top of the waves (Fig. 4). Even at contact pressures around 1.5GPa in the rolling contact, which are representative for normal operating conditions in wind turbine gearboxes, premature failures are generated after relative short testing time with a very similar appearance as failures seen in the field (Fig. 4).

The bar chart in Fig. 5 shows that six SKF high durability gearbox bearings have been tested under identical conditions and none of them have failed. All tests were suspended after 1,600 hours or more. Bearings of standard steel and heat treatment failed on average after 178 hours.

Fig. 4: Reproducing premature failures with WECs by applying increased hoop stresses [7]: tensile stresses in inner ring (a), and failed bearing after test with WECs and lens-shaped feature in crack surface (b), such as seen in several field failures as well.
Fig. 5: Comparison of running time on tensile stress test rig between standard steel and heat treatment and SKF high durability gearbox bearings. The average time to failure of standard steel and heat treatment is 178 hours, while all SKF high durability gearbox bearings tested survived until the tests were suspended.

New rating life models for SKF high durability gear‍box bearings for wind

The wind industry requires an evaluation of the bearing rating life using ISO/TS 16281:2008 [10]. ISO/TS 16281:2008 as well as ISO 281:2007 do not allow the calculation of the bearing life provided by advanced bearing solutions. Therefore, SKF has developed a methodology to incorporate SKF high durability gearbox bearing performance into ISO/TS 16281:2008 modified rating life. It combines an increase of the dynamic load rating and an increase in the life modification factor αISO.

According to ISO 281:2007, αISO is calculated as:

As shown in Ioannides et al. [11], the beneficial effect of advanced heat treatments and improved surface finish can be accounted for in the ISO model by adding proper characteristic numbers in aISO. To incorporate the performance improvement of the SKF high durability gearbox bearing, the factors Ψbrg, reflecting the Explorer effect, and ΦHDB, reflecting the additional effect of the improved steel and heat treatment, have been included in αISO:

Based on endurance testing presented previously, the adjustment function Ψbrg and ΦHDB can be determined.

SKF high durability gearbox bearings have improved material properties in both the subsurface and the surface. Therefore, the SKF generalized bearing life model (GBLM) [8] is the rating life model best suited to reflect the increased performance as realistically as possible, which separates the surface and subsurface effects (see Fig. 6). The basis of the SKF GBLM can be written as:

The subsurface term of the equation, represented by the volume integral, can be solved using established rolling contact fatigue methods [8]. However, the surface term, given by the area integral, accounts for failure modes related to surface fatigue. The surface term also incorporates modelling of the bearing design feature that can enhance the strength of the surface as in the present application. This approach was already successfully applied to the rating life calculation of hybrid bearings [9] and will be rolled out to more and more SKF products.

Once the different factors of the new rating life model are defined based on the previously described life tests, the rating life of SKF high durability gearbox bearings can be evaluated.

Fig. 6: Separation of surface and subsurface as proposed by the SKF GBLM.
The process to update and validate the modified ISO/TS 16281:2008 and SKF GBLM rating life models for SKF high durability gearbox bearings have been successfully audited by DNV.

The increase of the bearing rating life depends on the actual operating conditions. Fig. 7 gives an indication of the average life increase achieved in several calculation examples of the different stages of typical gearboxes. The life increase achieved is more than a factor of four. Thanks to the combined improvement of the surface and the subsurface performance, a significant rating-life increase is achieved over a wide range of operating conditions.

Fig. 7: Average rating life increase achieved by modelling a change from SKF Explorer to SKF high durability gearbox bearings for the different stages in a typical wind turbine gearbox. The results are averaged over many calculations modelling different relevant operating conditions, since the rating life increase depends on oil cleanliness, kappa and loading conditions.

How SKF high durability gearbox bearings for wind can support torque density increase

The dimension of the bearing supporting the planet gear often determines the minimum size of the planet gear. Therefore, a potential downsizing of this bearing will directly influence the planet gear dimensions and hence the size of ring gear and consequently the torque density of the gearbox.

This section shows with an application example how SKF high durability gearbox bearings can support this torque density increase by downsizing the planet bearing while keeping the same bearing rating life. It is based on a state-of-the-art 6 MW wind turbine gearbox, supported by a 4-row cylindrical roller bearing with the outer raceway integrated in the gear wheel. The customer requirement is to achieve a rating life of 30 years, fulfil the requirements of IEC 61400-4 [10] and minimize the outer raceway diameter.

Fig. 8 shows how the bearing size can be reduced while keeping the same bearing rating life. The first bar shows the bearing rating life of the original bearing selection. The second bar shows how the rating life would increase if this bearing were changed to an SKF high durability gearbox bearing. The third bar shows the rating life of the optimized bearing design using SKF high durability gearbox bearings. The outer raceway diameter is reduced by 25 %, from 460 mm to 350 mm, while the rating life is still fulfilling the customer requirements.

Fig. 8: Rating life and outer raceway diameter for 7 MW gearbox design: (1) original size, SKF Explorer, (2) original size, SKF high durability gearbox bearings and (3) optimized outer raceway diameter, SKF high durability gearbox bearing.
This allows the customer to reduce the dimensions of the planet gears up to 25 % and consequently also downsize the ring gear of the planetary gear stage as indicated by the sketches in Fig. 9.
Fig. 9: Sketch of torque density increase by applying SKF high durability gearbox bearing: The downsizing of the planet bearing (b) allows the reduction of the planet gear wheel by 25 %, thereby increasing the torque density (c).

Similar size reductions can be achieved on different positions in the gearbox:

  • Depending on the gear stage, the gearbox manufacturer requires a size reduction focusing on diameter or on bearing width (more relevant for higher speed stages).
  • On the high-speed shaft, downsizing with SKF high durability gearbox bearings will contribute to a reduced risk for slip-related damages, where roller (set) inertia plays an important role.

Conclusions

The optimized steel and heat-treatment process applied for SKF high durability gearbox bearings results in following proven benefits:

  • Confident downsizing of up to 25 % in bearing and gear dimension at the same loads enabled through five-times-longer life on surface and subsurface fatigue.
  • Satisfy the increased design-reliability requirements and design-life demands of 30 to 40 years with bearing rating life at the forefront of the industry, included in a modification of ISO/TS 16281:2008 and soon as well in SKF GBLM, successfully audited by DNV.
  • Increased field reliability by higher robustness against tough operating conditions in wind gearboxes.

Moreover, the increased robustness of SKF high durability gearbox bearings against typical failure modes in wind turbine gearboxes lead to less unplanned turbine standstill and repair cost. It’s a problem solver in the field to increase the reliability in case of premature bearing failures.

References

  1. “Focus areas in Vestas Powertrain”, A. Weber, A. Hansen, Conference for Windpower Drives, Aachen (2021)
  2. “White etching cracks – a consequence, not a root cause of bearing failure”, K. Stadler, R.H. Vegter, D. Vaes, SKF Evolution (2018)
  3. “SKF Rolling Bearing Catalogue”, 2018, SKF
  4. “Understanding and preventing surface distress”, G. Morales, V. Brizmer, SKF Evolution (2011)
  5. “Steels for bearings”, H.K.D.H. Bhadeshia, Progress in Materials Science, 57 (2012)
  6. “Benefits of using black oxidized bearings in wind applications”, K. Stadler, B. Han, V. Brizmer, R. Pasaribu, SKF Evolution (2015)
  7. “Investigation on the mechanisms of white etching crack (WEC) formation in rolling contact fatigue and identification of one root cause for bearing premature failure”, J. Lai, K. Stadler, Wear (2016)
  8. “A major step forward in life modelling”, G. Morales, A. Gabelli, SKF Evolution (2015)
  9. “The SKF Generalized Bearing Life Model for Hybrid Bearings”, G. Morales, A. Gabelli, A. Felix, SKF Evolution (2019)
  10. “Wind turbines – Part 4: Design requirements for wind turbine gearboxes”, IEC 61400-4:2012
  11. “An Analytical Formulation for the Life of Rolling Bearings”, E. Ioannides, G. Bergling, A. Gabelli, Acta Polytechnica Scandinavica, vol. 137 (1999)

Keep me updated

Want to learn more about what is driving change in the engineering world? EVOLUTION helps you to stay up to date with emerging trends as well as the latest technology. Sign up for EVOLUTION updates to receive new content directly to your inbox.

Sign up